greeting cards

The Daily Marker 30 day colouring challenge #23

Watercolour sunflower

What:

Day twenty-three of the second Daily Marker 30 day colouring challenge and I thought I’d give the shiny watercolours another go, this time on watercolour paper.

How:

The background is one I made some time ago and it has been lurking in my stash since then. It was painted with watercolour (a different set) and the texture was created by adding some grains of salt while it was still wet.

The flower was stamped in Versamark and then heat embossed with clear embossing powder as an experiment — I think almost any other colour would have been better, but not all experiments can be completely successful.

Painting the flower was even less fun than on the kraft card stock yesterday; it just didn’t want to cover evenly at all.

Once it was dry I die-cut the panel, mounted it on a black card base and added a die-cut “hello”.

I don’t dislike the end result, but I shan’t be rushing to use these paints again.

Lessons Learned:

I still don’t like painting with the Yasutomo watercolours.

Supplies:

  • stamps:
    Create a Smile – magic flowers
  • dies:
    Avery Elle – dotted elle-ments
    Clearly Besotted – hello
  • outlines:
    Versamark
    Hero arts – embossing powder – ultra fine clear
  • colour:
    Yasutomo watercolours
Shiny sunflower detail
It does look nice and shiny from the right angle.

30 day colouring challenge


Discover more from Crafty Rat

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

1 thought on “The Daily Marker 30 day colouring challenge #23”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.