greeting cards

The Daily Marker 30 day colouring challenge #22

Shiny watercolour flowers

What:

Day twenty-two of the second Daily Marker 30 day colouring challenge. Shimmery watercolour on Neenah desert storm cardstock.

Inspired by:

Julia Altermann recently painted some shimmery flowers using watercolour on kraft cardstock.

How:

I stamped the flowers and leaves with Versamark and heat embossed them in white. I should have done them in stages, masking as I went, but I thought I could get away without doing that. The couple of areas where there are overlapping lines prove me wrong.

Then it was on to the painting. I will say now that, although I like the finished effect on this card, I really don’t like using these watercolours. You have to let the water sit on it for a few minutes before mixing it into a very creamy paint, and getting the consistency right is hard (and varies depending on what paper you are using). It took several tries to get a smooth finish and even then it still looks a little streaky from some angles.

Once it was dry I took my trusty white gel pen and — following Julia’s advice of “three big dots and fill in with little ones” — I surrounded the flowers with white dots.

I was going to leave it without a sentiment and just add one when I’d decided who I was going to send the card to, but then I had a quick look through my word dies and this “smile” jumped out at me.

Lessons Learned:

Always mask stamped images if you want them to overlap; don’t rely on wiping bits of ink off the stamps, it won’t always work.

I don’t like painting with the Yasutomo watercolours. There is an imperceptible line between “too thin so it’s streaky” and “too thick so it’s blobby”. Also, it dries pretty quickly, so it’s extremely hard to go back and touch up areas that didn’t work out first time.

Supplies:

  • stamps:
    Create a Smile – magic flowers
  • dies:
    Mama Elephant – smile
  • outlines:
    Versamark
    Hero arts – embossing powder – white
  • colour:
    Yasutomo watercolours
  • embellishments:
    Uni-ball – Signo UM-153 – white
  • paper and card:
    Neenah – desert storm

30 day colouring challenge


Discover more from Crafty Rat

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

2 thoughts on “The Daily Marker 30 day colouring challenge #22”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.