greeting cards

The Daily Marker 30 day colouring challenge #12

Up and away bunny

What:

Day twelve of the second Daily Marker 30 day colouring challenge and today I really did simplify the colouring with a cute little critter and his umbrella.

Inspired by:

The idea for the die-cutting of the panel came from Jennifer McGuire, though I have yet to try the dot shading technique she demonstrates in that card. It’s on my list…

How:

I stamped the umbrella and the bunny separately and die-cut the circle the bunny’s in before colouring them with Copic markers. I fussy cut the umbrella — there are matching dies available, but I don’t often buy those as they’re significantly more expensive than the stamps (so I can just buy more stamps instead) and I am happy fussy cutting most things.

Then I prepped the main panel by die-cutting the larger circle from it and also from some patterned paper to use as a background. I heat embossed the sentiment and then decided to add the tiny flowers, which I coloured with Copics. One note about the sentiment: it says its rather than it’s. There is a gap between the t and the s in its, so they did leave space for an apostrophe, but you do have to add your own and this is where a VersaMarker comes in handy if you’re heat embossing.

The only “trick” with assembling the card was to use a knife to cut around the hand that would hold the umbrella so that I could slip the handle behind it. That and oodles of foam tape to raise the white panels and give the card some dimension.

Lessons Learned:

With Copic shading, it really is worth going back over some areas with your darkest colour just one more time.

Check that sentiments have apostrophes where they need them. I have at least a couple that are missing them.

Supplies:

  • stamps:
    Mama Elephant – up and away
  • dies:
    Lawn Fawn – small stitched circles
  • inks:
    Memento – tuxedo black
  • colour:
    Ranger – embossing powder – liquid platinum
  • Copic markers:
    bunny – E42, E43, E55, E23, E57
    umbrella, top – YG07, FYG2
    umbrella, underneath – G02, G12
    flowers – Y19, YR68, YR09
  • paper and card:
    Neenah – solar white
    Papermill Direct – plain – dark green

30 day colouring challenge


Discover more from Crafty Rat

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

1 thought on “The Daily Marker 30 day colouring challenge #12”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.