greeting cards

The Daily Marker 30 day colouring challenge #11

Coloured stencil

What:

Day eleven of the second Daily Marker 30 day colouring challenge. I really need to redefine my definition of simple as I described this as “straightforward colouring” when I posted it on Instagram…

How:

Simple idea: choose a stencil, trace around it and colour it in. This takes much longer than you’d think.

I took a piece of watercolour paper, fixed the stencil over it, carefully outlined it with a Copic multiliner pen and then removed the stencil.

I used the Clean Color pens to colour the only complete repeating image in the design in a vaguely rainbow pattern. Some of the colours blend better than others and the blending did look smoother when it was wet; the edges seemed to creep back as it dried.

Then I decided to switch medium and got the Supracolour watercolour pencils out; though I used them dry on this occasion. I created a rainbow blend across the whole of the panel and also filled in the narrow gaps with pale blue around the main element and grey elsewhere.

There wasn’t as great a difference in colour intensity as I had hoped for, so I decided to make a vellum mask to go over the pencil-coloured areas. I added some Doodlebug sprinkles over the top of the vellum and used these to hide the dots of glue sticking the vellum to the main panel. Finally, the panel was fixed to a black card base.

Lessons Learned:

Even without using water you can get a good blend with the Clean Color pens, but that blending may look significantly different once it has dried.

Supplies:

  • stencils:
    iStencils – 05-00001-RSC
  • colour:
    Zig Clean Color Real Brush pens
    Caran d’Ache supracolor
  • embellishments:
    Doodlebug – sprinkles – day to day assortment
  • paper and card:
    Watercolour paper
    Dovecraft – premium vellum
    Papermill Direct – plain – black
  • miscellaneous:
    Copic multiliner

30 day colouring challenge


Discover more from Crafty Rat

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

1 thought on “The Daily Marker 30 day colouring challenge #11”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.