greeting cards

The Daily Marker 30 day colouring challenge #8

Layered card

What:

Day eight of the second Daily Marker 30 day colouring challenge. This is what happens when — rather than giving in to the stinky cold I’ve come down with — I start making a card with no real end design in mind.

Inspired by:

I’ve seen the watercolour smoothing technique used in various places but Kristina Werner has a nice blog post and video demonstrating the technique.

How:

When I made the gems card on day 3 of the challenge I did a bit of extra stamping to see how well the images would tessellate and I decided to use one of those tests for today’s card.

The gem stamping was coloured with the Zig real brush pens, the background was created using the watercolour smooshing technique with Distress inks, and the frame was coloured with the Inka Gold that was still on my desk from yesterday.

Once I’d fixed the frame and gems in place on the background panel I decided that it needed a sentiment. Had I been thinking clearly, I would have quickly dismissed the idea, but the fuzzy head prevailed and I found a suitably sized sentiment and promptly stamped it lopsided in the frame. Cue fiddling around to get a correctly shaped piece of paper to cover it and stamp the sentiment properly and cover it with Wink of Stella.

A few scattered sequins and a massive amount of glossy accents and even I thought it was time to stop. Not my usual style, but I do quite like the finished effect.

Lessons Learned:

It is very hard to stamp a sentiment straight when you’re trying to avoid raised elements already on the card.

On the plus side, it is actually possible for me to walk away from something with glossy accents on it and not stick my finger in it before it’s dry.

Supplies:

  • stamps:
    Winnie & Walter – my precious
    Clearly Besotted – sentimental type
  • colour:
    Zig Clean Color Real Brush pens
    Inka Gold – platinum
    Distress ink pads – evergreen bough, scattered straw, picked raspberry, seedless preserves
  • embellishments:
    Woodware – chippies – bracket frames
    Doodlebug – sequins – assorted
    Ranger – glossy accents
    Wink of Stella
  • paper and card:
    Daler-Rowney – watercolour paper – 190gsm (90lb)
  • miscellaneous:
    We R Memory Keepers – ½” corner chomper

30 day colouring challenge


Discover more from Crafty Rat

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

1 thought on “The Daily Marker 30 day colouring challenge #8”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.